Ingrid is in her forties, originally from Sweden, and is currently a lecturer in interior design and runs a small design consultancy. Ingrid’s experience as an exchange student, working in an architectural company in Australia while studying English impacted her career; instead of becoming a doctor, she became an architect. Ingrid has experienced a number of transitions, starting with her relocation to Australia. These transitions include (i) being sponsored and working for a construction company in Noosa, (ii) becoming a businesswoman designing, manufacturing and selling Scandinavian furniture and providing interior design services, (iii) working in other various roles such as a real estate associate, and a travel agent before (iv) becoming a lecturer in interior design. She has recently completed a law degree, majoring in domestic violence but it is unclear if her next transition will involve becoming a lawyer.

Isaac is in his late forties, Australian born, and is currently a unviersity academic and researcher. Isaac has a fairly straightforward and smooth transition in his career within the education sector. He has experienced a couple of transitions including becoming i) a college teacher then ii) a university academic and researcher.

Ivy is in her mid twenties, Australian born, and is currently working as a dance instructor. Ivy was trained as a dance performer and had the opportunities to perform at Disneyland Tokyo as a character performer and at Disneyland Paris as a tap dancer then a cabaret in Paris. Due to COVID-19, Ivy has come back to Australia and become a Pilates instructor. Dance performer is Ivy’s dream job so she is looking forward to such opportunity arises again.


James is in his fifties, Australian born, and is currently looking for a paid employment. Each of James’ transitions was initially supported by a training or educational interlude. When he went to work for the cardboard packaging company (transition #1), he became a salesperson and knowledgeable in carport manufacturing through a six-month training program. When he moved into the air force, he went through basic officer training and then specific technical training to be an air craft controller, and then he progressed through the air force through a series of specialised training, but also engaged in the form of work which is largely about training for an event which may never happen (armed conflict). From there, he did truck driving course to become a truck driver and then went to work for a company (Volvo) that was highly supportive and, it could be proposed, had the equivalent of a training program in place for him to become a production controller. Then, he engaged in educational program to receive a bachelor with honours degree in adult education, and then a PhD in supporting learning which gave him opportunities for consultancies and further employment. So, a common feature across these transitions is some kind of an educational experience that permitted the transition to be successful and provided the foundation for his continuity in that work.

Jared is in his fifties, Australian born, and is currently a pilot. Jason has had a long career as a pilot. Due to restricted options and prospects of the aviation industry because of COVID-19, Jared started his driving instructor as a potential second job but found it lack of fulfillment. He has now returned to his pilot job when the airline industry has opened up. Jared has experienced a number of transitions within his career, including i) becoming a junior pilot/instructor, and ii) moving from general aviation into an airline job and becoming a second officer for 5 years, first officer for 7/8 years, then a captain for 18+ years.Jane is in her twenties, Australian born. Jane completed her degree in aviation and flight training then was successful in getting into cadetship program with Virgin Australia. She completed the training program in Adelaide and her commercial licence in February 2020. Due to COVID-19, she was made redundant in October/November 2020. But having strong commitment to remain in the aviation industry, jade has taken proactive actions to remain employable. She planned to move to Broome Darwin where there are more opportunities for juniors in the industry and looking into doing an instructor rating qualification, but finance is an issue. With the airline industry is opening back up, Jane has gained more hours of flying to build up her profile.

Jimmy is in his late thirties, Australian born, and is currently working in sports management. Jimmy has experienced a number of transitions, including i) becoming an apprentice in a coal mine doing automating mechanical repair and fitting machines, ii) becoming a semi-professional footballer while doing casual manual labour jobs, then iii) vaious management roles including the CEO of a football club.

Joe is in his seventies, Australian born, has retired from his fulltime employment, and is currently doing various volunteer roles with Scouts and Men’s Shed. Being trained as an electrical fitter in a 5-year apprenticeship, Joe has experienced a number of transitions of different kinds across his adult life. After 15 years working as an electrical fitter with South East Queensland Electricity Board (SEQUEB), Joe transitioned into quite different admin-related roles across different departments and locations, including (i) Consumer Liaison Officer in the head office, (ii) Chief Installation Inspector, and (iii) Project Support Officer (i.e. technical support) for the Call Centre of SEQUEB.

John is in his forties, and originally from New Zealand. John has experienced a large number (16+) of transitions of different kinds across his adult life, mainly around logistics and inventory management. A majority of these work roles were short-term contracts. The most significant transitions include (i) working as a warehouse manager- an early career job that set the grounds for his logistics and inventory management knowledge, where his skills were quickly recognised and appreciated by awarding him with a promotion, (ii) working for Roche pharmaceutical company in NZ, set his expectations for a great working environment that was suitable for his needs, although he had not been in a supervisory role, he appreciated the clarity of the role, the instructions, supportive management and company’s culture, (iii) moving to Australia to work on CLEM 7, impacting on his family as well as setting a different trajectory for his professional career, (iv)  working on the Airport link tunnel as a stores coordinator – the most rewarding from all jobs John has performed, and (v) currently working as a supply operator, which was perceived a demotion but John needed to provide for his family.

Joshua is in his seventies, Australian born, and has retired from his fulltime employment. He now lives on earned income from property investment. Joshua grew up on farms, and had only four years school, shearing sheep and working on cattle properties in his earlier years in Victoria and NSW. Joshua has experienced several transitions across his adult life. After his time in southern states, he (i) became a share farmer in Qld, with dairy cattle and grain, then started work in a meatworks and (ii) became a Qld Government stock inspector in Bundaberg and Ipswich, and also completed high school at night, then was transferred to (iii) becoming a meat inspector in Mackay and Brisbane, and stayed in this role until retirement. 

Julie is in her sixties, Australian born, and is currently a university academic and researcher. Julie has had a long career in the education sector, and worked across different muticultural settings. She has experienced a number of transitions across her adult life, including becoming i) a teacher in a remote area for 2 years then an urban area for 4 years, ii) an English Curriculum Consultant then Deputy Manager of a school support center, and iii) an academic and researcher across different universities.